Seventeen Bornblum Students Inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Seventeen Bornblum Students Inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Published in the Hebrew Watchman, April 25, 2019

Seventeen Bornblum middle school students were inducted into the inaugural class of Bornblum’s National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) at an induction ceremony held on Friday morning, January 12, 2019.

According to Daniel R. Weiss, Bornblum’s Head of School, formation of a NJHS chapter at Bornblum, “sets our school apart from other schools throughout our community and throughout the country, by recognizing our students who we feel are not only academically exceptional, but who also live in a way that models service, integrity, character, values, citizenship and care about school and community.”

To qualify for induction into NJHS, students must demonstrate not only scholarship (at least a B+ average), but also strength in the criteria of service, leadership, character, and citizenship. Students who are academically eligible are invited to apply and outline their accomplishments. A faculty committee, led by NJHS advisor and middle school teacher Deanna McAlexander, also provides input about each applicant. Once selected for induction, students and their parents are informed and invited to attend a formal induction ceremony. According to Mrs. McAlexander, “It is such a proud day for all of the inductees teachers and their families.“

This year’s inaugural inductees included: Jacob Attias, son of Kendall and Oliver Attias; Daniel Bendayan, son of Elizabeth and Abraham Bendayan; Abraham Friedman, son of Susan and Ted Friedman; Jordan Giles, son of Kim and Scott Giles; Abigail Hodus, daughter of Hilary and Mitch Hodus; Adam Loskovitz, son of Einat and Neal Loskovitz; Max Manis, son of Aimee and Brian Manis; Yael Nahum, daughter of Ifat and Sagi Nahum; Adam Nash, son of Nancy and William Nash; Jake Parker, son of Allison and Keith Parker; Gabriel Paz, son of Louise and Meir Paz; Rebecca Phelps, daughter of Rachel and Greg Phelps; Emerson Schaffer, daughter of Lisa and Joel Schaffer; Sara Smith, daughter of Deborah Daneman; Ethan VanderWalde, son of Sarah and Noam VanderWalde, Raanan VanderWalde, son of Lindi and Ari Vanderwalde; and Yaron Weiss, son of Jessica and Daniel R. Weiss.

Inductees were given Bornblum Pins which are reserved for individuals who make a long-term difference in the school. According to Mr. Weiss, “as founding members of the NJHS chapter at Bornblum, each of these students will take part in establishing an important legacy for our school, and therefore, they are well deserving of these special Bornblum pins.”

Throughout the year, NJHS members will elect officers, hold monthly meetings and complete both individual and group service projects. Each spring, hereafter, a new class of inductees will join these founding members when they are inducted by the current officers of the chapter.

Leave a Reply